I usually do a rite once a month on or around the Full Moon. Since Wednesday I had a meeting, and Thursday was Thanksgiving, I chose to do the ritual tonight. This post is concerning the practice and the thoughts I have of it after.

The ritual itself was taken from the book. As I said, I was concerned about these rituals (see the Dry Traditionalism heading), but I’m giving them a fair shot to see how they work. This ritual is found in Chapter 8: The Domestic Cult, and is the shortest of the rituals found in the book.

Before I get to it, a note as to why this post is public.

  1. I feel others that are also working in a PIE way might find the information at the very least interesting, and hopefully helpful.
  2. It really doesn’t bug me to post the results of a ritual, as it is something I would answer to anyone who knew I was Pagan and asked, anyway.
  3. I am hoping that anyone who does read the post and has questions or things to add will do so, so I can modify the practice, if necessary.

The full text of the ritual can more-or-less be found here, but here are the highlights of the ritual “skeleton:”

  1. Purification
  2. Envisioning the Cosmos at the Altar
  3. Calling to the Gods
  4. Offering
  5. Asking Blessings from the Gods

The purification was short and sweet, got the job done, and the Proto-Indo-European intonation did offer a sense of change from the mundane to the sacred. I chose, after speaking the PIE language, to repeat the phrases in English, which were:

May I be pure that I might cross through the sacred.
May I cross through the sacred that I may attain the holy.
May I attain the holy that I might be blessed in all things.

It is interesting that the Proto-Indo-European cannot be found on Serith’s site, only in the book. Out of respect, I’ll not yet add them to this post. In any case, I then lit the lamp and made my call to Westya.

All this worked out just fine. The purification makes sense. Calling upon Westya as the lamp is lit makes sense, and is something that I found missing from many other rites. The lighting of the fire is important in my practice; I usually say something about fire’s origins or Creation’s fire or something to that respect when I light them in my own rituals.

The next part was Envisioning the Cosmos, which is very similar to ADF’s Recreating the Cosmos. It intones the basic ideas of cosmology: Land, Sea, and Sky. The hand motions were strange; I imagine they may have originally been included to offer a sense of magic to the ritual, or as a way of cementing the cosmology in the mind. Makes sense, didn’t really work as intended if that was the intent. Next time, instead of (or in addition to) hand motions, I am going to put more effort into envisioning Land, Sea, and Sky, as I usually do when I establish the Altar as the Axis Mundi in previous rituals.

Calling the Gods happened at the same time as Envisioning the Cosmos. It’s more than just a call, however, it’s also an admonition of self to be true, just, and pure, in essence, establishing oneself as aligned with and a part of *Xartus*dhetis*swartus, and *swedhos. It makes sense, but feels forced. It didn’t subtract from the effect, though, so I will try this again when I next perform this ritual. Unfortunately, there is listed in the text a bow which I missed in ritual, I will note this for the next time.

Offering: the recommended offering was poured libations. Gin, in this case, as it is what I have handy. The offering is made to “all the Holy Ones,” “leaving out none.” I was taught that such a phrase was a little dangerous in ritual, but there was no immediate detriment. With the offering comes an exhortation for blessings, which makes sense. Finally, there were specific Gods listed in asking blessings, Dyeus Pter and Perkunos. Makes sense for a household practice, especially in aspects of Father and Defender, respectively.

The text of the ritual says I can offer to other Gods, and I did so, as well as the Xansus (land spirits) and Wikpotes (ancestors). I knelt, stood, and then extinguished the fire as indicated. This leads to my primary issue with the ritual as written. There is hardly any conclusion to the ritual. It states that the pter (PIE “father”) bows, puts out the fire, and that’s that. No acknowledgement of the end of ritual, no farewell to any of the Gods one has called. I felt compelled to say at the end, “The rite is ended, go in peace.” The lack of a spoken conclusion in a ritual with very specific words for each section was very jarring.

Conclusion of the ritual: I will be performing it again, if only to ensure I have not missed anything in a first working. However, the ritual feels unfinished, and seems more like a brief prayer than a full rite, despite the fact that it has all the aspects of a ritual. Also, in comparison to the other rituals in Deep Ancestors, the brevity further makes it feel like a short prayer ritual. After I perform this once or twice more, I may add to it.

So that’s the basic Offering Rite for the household practices.

