Using the Natural World as Divination

I’m really enjoying my 5-minute version of the COoR, which I wrote in response to a number of the clergy talking about making the call to inspiration a permanent part of the Core Order. Part of it, though, is something I have been thinking about more often after the Autumnal Equinox rite I ran for Stone Creed before the pandemic. When I discussed how everything was going to go down in the business meeting for that rite, Ian mentioned that, for the omen portion, I should look to the sky and the environs of the grove for signs of birds or other natural phenomena, which may have been one of the earliest forms of divination. I took his suggestion to heart and the omen that resulted was, in retrospect, one of the most accurate that I’ve done.

In my current morning prayer COoR, I have an assumed omen as a part of the prayer. The phrase goes,

I look to the sky and the sun’s bright path,
And know your blessings touch my home!

Essentially, assuming that the sun rises and sets daily, I’m reminded of the aid my spirit allies have already given. At least, that is the intent of the phrase, though it could also be interpreted as, if the sky and the sun continue as they have been, I am blessed by the Gods in this way. In any case, the omen of the prayer is assumed, a daily occurrence that can be easily verified.

Part of the reason it’s assumed is, much of the time, I don’t get to see the sun, being on a 3rd-shift schedule. I end up seeing the night sky as opposed to the day. I really look forward to Stone Creed high day rites, where I can see the sun for a few hours before going home and back to my normal schedule. Occasionally, I’ll step outside as early as I can just to see the sunlight. For me, the sun rising where I can see it is not a given, even if the rising and setting sun is assumed. Honestly, I think that is part of the reason I added it to the prayer, to remind me of that path even though I don’t necessarily see it every day. In this way, I might be somewhat like those in the far-northern countries, who do not see the sun for weeks at a time.

This is just one form that observed world divination can take, however. In his book on Ogham, Skip Ellison points to a number of types of divination: by air, by water, by stones, by fish, by birds, and so forth. In the past, this was done in several ways. We have records of Roman rites observing the movement of horses for divination, and we have instances of using the horse’s entrails in the same culture. It is similar for poultry and other birds; the flight path of birds, especially, was a commonly-used divination technique. However, for all we know of these techniques, precious little is preserved of how these techniques were used. We know that the flight of birds was used in divination, sure, but we have no idea what meaning the ancient priests ascribed to each flight. In short, we’re having to rediscover these techniques from scratch. I would say that this is another reason I’ve used the sun’s path as the omen for this daily prayer, considering the sun travels roughly the same path day in, day out. Because of the earth’s tilt, it spirals south at this time, during winter, and then spirals north toward the high sky in summer. For now and for many centuries, it has been a reliable reminder that we are alive and continue to live on this earth.

For reference, this is the current updated text of my COoR prayer:

Let the prayer begin with a drop of water,
Sacred and pure, let it bring me to the spirits.

Hearth and home, I call to you,
To honor you, I light the flame.

Soil and stones, I honor the Earth Mother,
The nurturing home upon which we live.

With my tongue, Awen grant me
Words of wisdom to treat with the spirits.

I honor the Gods, I honor the spirits,
And today I honor my ancient Kin.

I honor the fire, the well and the tree,
With the land around me,
The sea surrounding me,
The sky above me,
I stand at the center.

Let my voice reach forth through the Gatekeeper’s arms,
And my prayer pierce the veil.

Ancestors, spirits, mighty Gods,
Hear me and come to join my home!

With an offering given in honor and love,
Accept my gifts, ye Kindreds, hail!

I look to the sky and the sun’s bright path,
And know your blessings touch my home!

Let your blessings fall upon me now
Let your blessings bring fruit within my heart.

My words and deeds be true and wise,
Guide me today as I go on my way.

With voice of thanks, I honor you Kindreds,
And let the veil fall once more.

With voice of thanks I thank the work
Of inspiration to guide my tongue.

Spirits of my hearth, Lady of the Land,
I honor you first, and thank you last.

With all this done, I end the prayer
The power of the spirits within me.

Leave a comment